History of Department of Information Technology

  • Home
  • History of Department of Information Technology

The provision of computer facilities and services at the University of Malaya (UM) began soon after the Computer Centre was officially formed in 1965. This made the university one of the pioneers in computer usage in Malaysia. In December 1969, the Computer Centre took on an additional role of teaching and research of computer science and information technology. The Computer Centre Board was formed, comprising the Vice-Chancellor (as Chairman), the Director of Computer Centre (as Secretary), and a representative from each Faculty, Institute, Centre and the University Senate.

In 1974, the Diploma in Computer Science programme was introduced. From its inception in the 1974/1975 Session to the 1997/1998Session, a total of 300 students had been awarded the Diploma. The Master of Computer Science (MCS) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) programme were two (2) higher degree programme by research approved by the Senate and had been administered by the Computer Centre since 1985. In addition, the Computer Centre offered a four (4) years Bachelor of Computer Science programme. The first undergraduate enrolment for the 1990/1991 Session was 50 students.

In April 1st 1993, the University Senate agreed to the formation of the Computer Centre Study Board. The Board proposed the establishment of a faculty to be called the Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology (FCSIT). The existing Computer Centre was to be annulled and replaced by a Computer Services Division which was placed under the Chancellery. On September 22nd, 1994, the University of Malaya Council agreed to the formation of the Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology (FCSIT), and the Computer Services Division. A sum of 4.2 million was obtained from the Ministry of Education under the Sixth Malaysian Plan to put up a new building for the faculty, with the necessary infrastructure for teaching, learning and research. The building was officially declared open by the Minister of Education, Dato' Sri Najib Tun Abdul Razak on September 26th, 1996.

The Bachelor of Information Technology programme started in the 1996/1997 Session, with an initial intake of 50 students. To accommodate an increase student population, an additional building was built which was officially opened by Datuk Fong Chan Onn, Deputy Minister of Education on September 21st, 1998. Since its establishment, the Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology have been led by a number of distinguished persons. The following have served as Officially formed 1965 providing initial computer facilities using the IBM 1130 (located at the present network room old building)

Our Director

No. Director Name Years
Director of Pusat Komputer, Universiti Malaya (1967 until 1994)
1 Mr. Ong Yin Fook 1967 – 1973
2 Professor Paul Peach 1973 – 1975
3 Dr. R.K. Pillay 1975 – 1978
4 Dr. Tan Bock Thiam 1978 – 1982
5 Professor Ir. Dr. Mashkuri Yaacob 1982 – 1990
6 Professor Lee Poh Aun 1990 – 1992
7 Professor Ir. Dr. Mashkuri Yaacob 1992 – 1994

Our Director

No. Director Name Years
Head of Computer Services Division (1995 until 1999)
1 Mr Ng Cheng Kheng 1995 – 1998
2 Professor Dr. Sharifuddin Md. Zain 1998 – 1999

Our Director

No. Director Name Years
Director of Centre for Information Technology (2000 until Present)
1 Professor Dr. Mohd Sapiyan Baba 2000 - 2004
2 Mr. Faharuddin Hassan 2004 - 2008
3 Dr. David Asirvatham 2009 - 2017
4 Madam Asiah Abu Samah 2018 - Present